The Freedom Moldova Human Rights Foundation earlier reported many violations of the legal proceedings during the pre-trial investigation and the trial on the so-called “Platon’s case”. It is to be recalled that Veaceslav Platon, who is one of the few key witnesses in the case of “$1 billion bank fraud”, has been removed from his trial on the far-fetched and extremely doubtful reasons. Despite a wide public resonance the so-called “Platon’s case” gained, the court sessions are unjustifiably held behind closed doors.

It is reasonable that in such conditions the only chance of the defendant to exercise his right to defense is the meetings with his lawyers through whom he somehow can inform the court and the public about his position. However, even this obviously cutdown, faulty, but at least some semblance of continuation of legal assistance is failed to be provided by the Department of Penitentiaries and in particular by employees of the Penitentiary No.13.

We need to note that defendant Veaceslav Platon, who claims that he has the necessary proofs and information connected with the $1 billion bank fraud in Moldova, is systematically deprived of the right of access to his lawyers.

The administration of the Penitentiary No.13 therefore violates provisions of the legislation on the Bar, the Correctional Code, the Code of Criminal Procedure, actively interferes not only with the implementation of the detainee’s right to defense, but also hampers citizens to find socially significant information on the case of “$1 billion bank fraud”.

Freedom Moldova expresses its concern about the illegal actions of the administration of the Penitentiary No.13, and emphasizes that such developments are nothing less than the intended isolation of the defendant (who is already in prison) from the outside world.

We call attention of all interested organizations and international structures dealing with monitoring of the functioning of democratic institutions in the Republic of Moldova to the unprecedented violations of the rights, standards, and procedures in the so-called “Platon’s case”. The intended and systematic obstacles the authorities put to not allow shedding light on actions of organizers and perpetrators of the “fraud of the century” prove again that the prosecution of Veaceslav Platon is politically motivated.


August 22, 2017.
Tags:
Published at 23-08-2017, 10:55.

The Freedom Moldova Foundation continues to monitor the events concerning detention of two participants of the protest rally held on July 19, 2017, – S.Tomsa and S.Vlasov. In the rally day the circumstances of their detention already raised flags about the police work. Subsequently both detainees have received 10 days of administrative detention for the so-called “resistance to the police officer”. No independent witness and video evidence of the “resistance” have been provided to the court of law, and the general public either. The court has unreasonably applied an exceptional measure to punish peaceful protesters – the administrative detention.

We believe it another example of the police and judicial arbitrariness. We have to note that the cases when the plainclothes law enforcement officers pull out from ranks of protesters and subject them to punishment with the purpose to intimidate all others, have become a trivial routine for the police. We condemn the use of police officers for the political purposes as provokers to discredit peaceful protest rallies.

Freedom Moldova is also concerned about the conditions in which the injured protesters were held under arrest. Those conditions failed to meet elementary standards of safety, were inhuman and obviously aimed at intimidating.

The Freedom Moldova Foundation considers that on July 19, the police very seriously violated the rights of citizens to peaceful protest. The Foundation calls attention that the police shall be bound to ensure public order during protest rallies, including the protesters’ safety.

August 8, 2017

http://newsmaker.md/rus/novosti/menya-nachali-dushit-kak-poslednego-ugolovnika-blits-intervyu-nm-s-sergeem-tomshey-32886
Tags:
Published at 9-08-2017, 09:16.

Отчеты

Фонд по защите прав человека «Freedom Moldova» ранее заявлял о многочисленных нарушениях процессуальных норм в период следствия, а также в рамках судебного процесса по т.н. «делу Платона». Напомним, что подсудимый В.Платон – один из немногих ключевых свидетелей по делу о «краже миллиарда», был удален со своего процесса по надуманным и крайне сомнительным причинам. Несмотря на широкий общественный резонанс, заседания по т.н. «делу Платона» необоснованно проходят в закрытом режиме.

Естественно, что в таких условиях единственным шансом подсудимого реализовать свое право на защиту остаются встречи со своими адвокатами, через которых он хоть как-то может донести свою позицию до суда и до общества. Но даже это явно урезанное, неполноценное, но хоть какое-то продолжение защиты не обеспечивается Департаментом Пенитенциарных Учреждений и в частности сотрудниками ПУ-13.

Мы вынуждены констатировать, что подсудимый Платон Вячеслав, утверждающий, что обладает необходимыми доказательствами и информацией, связанными с кражей миллиарда из банковской системы страны, систематически лишается права на доступ к адвокатам.

Тем самым администрация ПУ-13, нарушая положения законодательства об адвокатуре, Исполнительный Кодекс, УПК, активно мешает не только осуществлению права на защиту заключенного, но и препятствует гражданам узнать общественно значимую информацию по «делу о краже миллиарда».

Freedom Moldova выражает свою озабоченность незаконными действиями руководства ПУ-13, и подчеркивает, что происходящее есть ни что иное, как намеренная изоляция подсудимого (который и без того находится в заключении) от всего внешнего мира.

Мы обращаем внимание всех заинтересованных организаций и международных структур, осуществляющих мониторинг функционирования демократических институтов в Республике Молдова, на беспрецедентные нарушения прав, норм и процедур, которые сопровождают т.н. «дело Платона». Намеренные и систематические препятствия со стороны властей пролить свет на действия организаторов и исполнителей «кражи века» ещё раз подтверждают политический характер преследования Вячеслава Платона.


22 августа 2017 г.
Теги:
Новость опубликована 23-08-2017, 10:50.

---
Фонд Freedom Moldova продолжает следить за ситуацией вокруг задержания двух участников протестов от 19 июля – С.Томши и С.Власова. Ещё в день протеста обстоятельства их задержания вызывали много вопросов к работе полиции. Впоследствии оба задержанных получили по 10 суток административного ареста за так называемое «сопротивление сотруднику полиции». Никаких независимых свидетельских и видео- показаний «сопротивления» не было предоставлено ни на суде, ни широкой общественности. Суд необоснованно применил исключительную меру наказания к мирным протестующим – административный арест.

Мы считаем, что перед нами очередной пример полицейского и судебного произвола. Мы вынуждены констатировать, что случаи, когда сотрудники правоохранительных органов, переодетые в гражданскую одежду, выдергивают из рядов протестующих и подвергают их наказанию с целью запугать всех остальных, стали обыденной практикой полиции. Мы осуждаем использование полицейских в политических целях в качестве провокаторов для дискредитации мирных акций протеста.

Freedom-Moldova также обеспокоен условиями, в которых пострадавшие протестующие отбывали арест. Эти условия не соответствовали элементарным нормам безопасности, были бесчеловечны и явно направлены на запугивание.

Фонд Freedom Moldova считает, что 19 июля полиция грубейшим образом нарушило права граждан на мирный протест. Фонд обращает внимание, что полиция обязана обеспечить порядок при проведении митингов протеста, включая безопасность самих протестующих.

08 августа 2017 г.

http://newsmaker.md/rus/novosti/menya-nachali-dushit-kak-poslednego-ugolovnika-blits-intervyu-nm-s-sergeem-tomshey-32886

Теги:
Новость опубликована 8-08-2017, 16:31.